UNISA Mayors and Chairs: Alan Livingston (Waikato Regional Council), Bill Shepherd (Northland Regional Council), Phil Goff (Auckland Council), Doug Leeder (Bay of Plenty Regional Council), Greg Brownless (Tauranga City Council), Sheryl Mai (Whangarei District Council), Andrew King (Hamilton City Council)

UNISA is a long-term commitment to collaboration between the Auckland Council, Bay of Plenty Regional Council, Northland Regional Council, Waikato Regional Council, Hamilton City Council, Tauranga City Council and Whangarei District Council. The UNISA governance group is the Mayors and Chairs of the member councils.

The governance group meets regularly throughout the year to consider responses to and management of a range of interregional and inter-metropolitan issues. It is a collaborative body that may make recommendations to constituent councils and central government.